8 Auspicious Symbols Prayer Flags, 24x20cm

8 Auspicious Symbols Prayer Flags, 24x20cm

Regular price €12,10
Unit price  per 
(VAT incl.)

Ashtamangala is a Sanskrit term for the ‘Eight Auspicious Symbols’: the conch shell, the eternal knot, the pair of golden fish, the treasure vase, the parasol, the Dharmachakra wheel, the victory banner, and the lotus flower. These 8 symbols are held sacred by most Eastern religions, including Tibetan Buddhism. In ancient India, they represented gifts offered to kings. In Buddhism, the symbols of good fortune represent offerings made by the gods to Shakyamuni Buddha immediately after he attained enlightenment. On the individual prayer flags, each symbol appears with its name in Tibetan script, and its special quality in English.

It is said that when prayer flags flap in the wind, the spiritual powers of the sacred images and scriptures are carried by the wind to balance the elements, and engender enrichment and supportive opportunities. Hanging prayer flags is considered an act of merit that increases positive opportunities.

Generally speaking, Mondays and Fridays are the most effective days to hang your prayer flags. Ideally, the flags should be hung in the morning. When the flags are faded and ready to be replaced, customarily they are carefully taken down and burned or otherwise respectfully disposed of. For a joyful start to the New Year, Tibetan “Losar” (New Year) is considered the most auspicious time to replace faded or tattered prayer flags.

Set of 8 multicoloured flags. Each flag measures 24x20cm. Complete length, including string is ~2.2 metres.